Queen of Carbs

If there is one thing I’m good at it’s cooking (and eating) carbs. I love that I reached target eating pasta, rice and bread throughout! Start as you mean to go on… I have lots of requests on my Instagram account about how I make Slimming World friendly chips and the amazing potato, leek and tomato boulangere. I’ll be sharing step by step guides for both recipes on this post. 

Syn Free Chips

I never made my own chips before I joined Slimming World but now they would be my number one choice over any kind of frozen chip any day! (I would say chippy chip but that’s going a step too far!). I get asked what my secret recipe is for syn free chips all the time but I honestly don’t think I do anything special. Nonetheless, I will share the chip love and talk you through each step. 

Ingredients 

  • Potatoes (as many as required)
  • Frylight
  • Your favourite seasoning

Method

  • Peel and chip (I always make them chunky) your choice of potato. I usually buy Maris Pipers for your standard chip but little new potatoes chopped in half with the skin on are INCREDIBLE. 
  • Place the chips in cold water and bring to the boil. Par boil until the chips are soft but remain in tact. I boil them for as long as I can before they fall apart. 
  • Gently drain the chips ensuring you don’t break them. 
  • Spray a large baking tray or oven dish with frylight to prevent the chips sticking to the bottom. 
  • Carefully place the chips onto the tray and leave to cool for ten minutes. 
  • Once cool, spray generously with your choice of frylight low cal spray and season well. I absolutely love the Spicentice gourmet chip spice but before I discovered that, I’d use S&P or Cajun spices/mixed herbs/rosemary/paprika depending on what the chips are accompanying. 
  • Place in a preheated oven (200c) for 30-40 minutes. 
  • Remove from the oven half way through cooking. Gently turn the chips, re-spray and season if needed. 

Here are a selection of chip photos for your viewing pleasure:

All seasoned wth salt and pepper and…

Chilli flakes


Rosemary


Mixed herbs


Spicentice gourmet chip spice


The same principal can be used to make roast potatoes/Spanish potatoes etc:



Next up – Potato, leek and tomato boulangere. Hugely popular with the whole family. Syn free if using your Healthy Extra A on the cheese (6 syns per portion if not). I found this Slimming World recipe in one of their magazines and have lost count of how many times I’ve made it since. It’s so tasty. We usually have it with low fat sausages and chopped tomatoes. I’ll include some more carby photos shortly…

Ingredients 

  • 800g potatoes, peeled and sliced 
  • Frylight
  • One large white onion
  • 2 leeks, sliced
  • 4 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
  • Salt and pepper 
  • 8 large tomatoes, thickly sliced
  • 150ml vegetable stock
  • Fresh thyme, chopped and sprigs to garnish
  • 120g low fat cheese

Method 

  • Preheat the oven to 200c
  • Place the sliced potatoes into cold water and bring to the boil. Par boil for 5 minutes or until soft but holding their shape. 
  • Spray a frying pan with your choice of frylight and gently fry the onions, garlic and leeks together until soft. Season with S&P and a few thyme leaves. 
  • Arrange half the par boiled potato slices at the bottom of a large oven dish (20x30cm) and season. 
  • Top the potatoes with the sliced tomatoes then spread over the leek mixture. 
  • Add the remaining sliced potatoes on top of the leek mixture, followed by the remaining tomatoes. 
  • Pour over the vegetable stock and top with chopped thyme. Season well then sprinkle over the grated cheese and thyme sprigs. Bake for 30 minutes. 

The finished article:


As already mentioned, I’ve enjoyed many meals with this recipe:

With Heck Chicken Italia sausages (0.5 syns each) and asparagus:


With Musclefood low fat pork sausages (0.5 syns each) and chopped tomatoes:


Ok – no more photos. I think you get an idea of how much I love a good potato! Hope you enjoy making your own. Feel free to tag me on Instagram (Bravenewslimmingworld) if you make any of the recipes on the blog. Nothing nicer than seeing other people making delicious meals. 

See you on the other side!

Elena xx

Leave a Reply

