Syns on the South Coast

This weekend we went to Paignton and although it was amazing, it was also amazingly off plan… We enjoyed all of the seaside treats including chips cooked in beef fat and batter (who does that?!) with batter bits/scraps/scrumps/gribbles/scribbles. I found out very quickly from my Instagram post (@bravenewslimmingworld) that these little bits from heaven have lots of different names all over the country. Whatever they’re called, they were amazing. Best chips I’ve ever had! So if you’re visiting Paignton and don’t have to worry about your waistline then head down to Scoffs. 


In an attempt to claw back some syns we had a Slimming World friendly picnic with wholemeal tuna mayo rolls, peppers, cucumbers, chicken drumsticks and some low syn crisps (Walkers Pops – 4 syns). 


We went out for a synful three course lunch on Sunday at Bistro Pierre – Torquay. Enjoyed every mouthful. I apologise for the non Slimming World food pictures but it’s not something I make a habit of and I think it’s important to remember that we still have to live our lives. There will still be holidays and special occasions. The most important thing for me is to still feel in control despite all of these meals. I know exactly what to do to rein it back in. I will be measuring my healthy extras and counting syns all week in order to be a Slimming World angel. I find this method works for me because realistically, I will never be able to cut out the fish and chips and meals out but that doesn’t mean I throw in the towel completely. Balance!


I don’t seem to be able to make good choices when I’m eating out so I’ve already decided that next week’s post is going to be all about how I stayed on plan for our entire trip. (We are going to see Shawn Mendes because my little boy would happily swap his whole family to go and live with him forever.) We have a busy couple of months ahead so I’m aware that I can’t be YOLO every time we have plans. I have already made my meal plan for the coming week and I’m excited to be back on the wagon. 


Looking forward to sharing some of these meals in future. I’ve had some exciting deliveries from Spicentice and MOR sausages this week so I can’t wait to share my verdict with you. For this week’s recipe share I’ve decided to talk about the courgette boats I made recently. Musclefood sent out a big slimming hamper so I tested out they’re beef mince – SO GOOD. So meaty and full of flavour. Not fatty or watery at all. Loved it and I will definitely be ordering more. 


Bolognese stuffed courgette boats

Ingredients 

  • 3 x Courgettes, scoop out the insides and put to one side. 
  • 1 x 400g pack Musclefood low fat minced beef
  • Frylight
  • 1 x chopped white onion
  • 2 x crushed garlic cloves 
  • Chopped mixed peppers
  • Chopped mushrooms
  • 1 x Tin chopped tomatoes
  • 1 x carton of passata 
  • 2 x heaped tsps of Uncharted Spice Ragu alla bolognese (or your favourite herbs and spices)
  • 1 x tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 x tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 40g grated low fat cheese
  • Fresh parsley or basil

Method

  • Cut the courgettes in half lengthwise and scoop out the insides, put to one side. 
  • Place the courgette halves upright in a baking dish. Pour in some water to cover the bottom of the dish, cover with foil and bake for 20 mins. 
  • Meanwhile, spray a pan with Frylight and add the onions, mushrooms, garlic, minced beef and herbs & spices. Cook until the beef is almost cooked through and the veg has softened. 
  • Add the chopped tomatoes, Worcestershire sauce, balsamic vinegar, chopped peppers and courgette flesh to the mixture. Stir and allow to simmer until the sauce darkens and thickens. Season well. 
  • Remove the courgette boats from the oven. Remove the water from the bottom of the dish and replace it with passata.
  • Place the courgettes on top of the layer of passata and fill with the mince mixture. 
  • Top with grated cheese and bake for a further 20 minutes uncovered. 
  • Garnish with fresh parsley or basil and serve with your favourite side. 

I served my courgette boats with boiled rice mixed with my favourite speedy vegetables but I think you could have this with slimming World chips or pasta too. Enjoy and please tag me on Instagram if you go ahead and make this recipe. I love to see people making my blog recipes. Here’s to a full week on plan!

Elena xx

Leave a Reply

