Barbecue season… Slimming World style!

Let’s rewind ten years to an eighteen year old Elena hosting a barbecue. The shopping list for said barbecue included; Beers, burgers and bread! Of course beer was at the top of the list. Let’s face it, this barbecue consisted of an endless flow of alcohol with the odd burger thrown in. Well drag yourself back to the present day (sorry, I know it was fun back there while it lasted) and today’s BBQ shopping list… Beers – tick (What?! It’s a barbecue after all), burgers – tick, bread – tick! Ok, so I didn’t really prove a point there, or did I? I was going to base this blog post on a syn free BBQ but in reality I don’t deprive myself of anything I had before. I’m making better choices of course, but I always eat my syns and make sure I’m not missing out on ‘the good stuff’.

The food today was so good, I had to share it with you. Also, with barbecue season looming, I thought some of these recipes and recommendations would come in handy. I’ll start with the most important part… the meat! Don’t panic vegetarians and vegans – my Dad’s a veggie so I have plenty of options coming up. 

We headed to Iceland to see if we could get our hands on some of the new, limited edition garlic and herb burgers. Lovely! Although I do miss the coriander and chilli ones. Syn free with my healthy extra B wholemeal roll (or 6 syns) and some speedy onions for good measure. Unfortunately, I didn’t have as much luck finding the paprika chicken sausages so I went in search of trusty Heck sausages instead. No joy. Panicked and fearing my barbecue would be sausageless, I searched the aisles of Tesco for a sausage that wasn’t plastered in red warning markers. I felt like Dale Winton would appear at any moment… and then all peace was restored and I found the perfect summer sausage. I’m actually very pleased about my sausage disappointment because I have discovered a new found love for ‘Mor’ chicken sausages with basil and sundried tomatoes. And at a syn a sausage, who can complain? These were so tasty and a lovely change. I can’t wait to try their pork sausages although I can imagine the syns will be considerably higher. Enough sausage talk! On to the drumsticks. For any who follows me on Instagram, (@bravenewslimmingworld) you will have seen that I had the nicest BBQ ribs last night! The sauce is so good and syn-free so I decided to marinate the chicken in it too. Genius! It was lush. This BBQ sauce has served me well. I’ll also be using it on my hunters chicken this week. Watch this space…


Here’s the recipe for the sauce: 

Ingredients

  • 2 onions, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • Frylight
  • A tin of passata
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • 1 tsp chilli powder
  • 1 tsp mustard powder
  • 4 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce 
  • 2 tsp sweetener

Method 

  • Add the chopped onions, garlic, spices and mustard powder to a pan and fry with Frylight until soft. 
  • Add all the other ingredients. Bring to the boil then simmer for 10 minutes. 
  • Leave chunky or blend for a smooth consistency (I recommend this for marinating)

Next – the sides. I have fallen in love with cauliflower couscous. Having never done anything with cauliflower apart from smothering it in cheese, I was pleasantly surprised. I simply blitzed the cauli in a food processor (you can buy it this way too) and fried it in frylight along with red onions, peppers, spring onions and wild garlic. I also added ‘Uncharted Spice’ Ragu alla bolognese mix. I love this company. Beautiful, beautiful herbs and spices. Failing these sexy spices, I would just use whatever you fancy! This was ready in minutes and is syn free (and SP). My new favourite side. 


I made veggie halloumi skewers because Halloumi is awesome and perfect on a barbie. Jam-packed skewers with mushrooms, mixed peppers, red onions, cherry tomatoes and light halloumi (45g for healthy extra A choice or 5.5 syns). 

My signature potato salad went down a treat! Royal jersey potatoes with spring onions, red onions, sweetcorn, paprika, light mayo and wild garlic. You may have noticed a wild garlic theme going on. I love the stuff. My dad picks it every year and I put it in most meals. The potato salad works out around 2 syns per portion. All of this was accompanied by a fresh summer salad and some jacket potatoes and wedges made with Frylight. Can’t beat a Frylight chip. My secret is to wait until they’ve cooled right down before putting them in a really hot oven. Oh and Season All – magical stuff. 


All in all, I think you’ll agree that the present day barbecue was just as successful as the beer-fuelled barbecue of days past. 

Happy barbecuing!!

Elena xx

4 thoughts on “Barbecue season… Slimming World style!

    1. Hi Hayley,

      I suppose it’s down to personal preference but I keep my home made sauces in a sealed jar in the fridge for around a month. If there vinegar in it then I find they last even longer. Something I’ve also found useful when I don’t have the fridge space is portioning the sauce into food bags and freezing them until I need it next. Hope this helps, Elena xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

